Collections of Photography. From Strategies to Policies / 12 – 14 December 2008


12-14 December 2008 / Thessaloniki

Organization: Thessaloniki Museum of Photography Coordination: Sam Stourdzé, Vangelis Ioakimidis Conference Organiser agency: Symvoli Conference & Event Organizers In this Symposium the participating lecturers are museum directors and curators from Belgium, France, Germany, Canada, the USA, Spain, Israel, the Netherlands and Greece. During the three days of the International Symposium, the issues will revolve around strategies of acquisition, funding and resources as well as the history of each museum. This Symposium, an initiative of international interest, aims at the formation of a platform where varied view points and practices are presented as well as arriving in constructive results and ideas for the future.


  1. Sam Stourdze (independent curator, Co-ordinator of the Symposium)
  2. François Cheval (Director Musée Nicéphore – Niepce)
  3. Xavier Cannone (Director – Musée de la Photographie Charleroi)
  4. Ruud Visschedijk (Director – Nederlands Fotomuseum)
  5. Anne de Mondenard (Photography historian, author)
  6. Nissan Perez (Horace and Grace Goldsmith Senior Curator,The Israel Museum, Jerusalem)
  7. Enrique Ordonez (collector)
  8. Agnes Sire (Director – Fondation Henri Cartier Bresson)
  9. Anne McCauley (Professor History of Photography – Princeton University)
  10. Alison Nordstrom (Curator of Photographs – George Eastman House, International Museum of Photography and Film )
  11. Britt Salvesen (Director and Chief Curator– Center for Creative Photography in Tucson, University of Arizona)
  12. Gabrielle Conrath-Scholl (Director of the Photographic Archive, Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur Köln)
  13. Sandra Phillips (Curator of Photography at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art) (San Francisco MOMA)
  14. Anne Cartier Bresson (Conservatrice en chef du patrimoine de la ville de Paris)
  15. Harry Malcolmson (collector)
  16. Vivi Hatzigeorgiou and
  17. Mathilde Pyrli (Curators of the Photographic Archive of the Hellenic and Literary and Historical Archive, Athens)
  18. Aliki Tsirgialou (Responsible of the Photographic Archive of the Benaki Museum) and
  19. Maria Matta (Responsible of the Photography Laboratory of the Benaki Museum)
  20. Marilena Kassimati (Curator, National Gallery)
  21. Denis Zaharopoulos (Artistic Director Macedonian Museum of Contemporary Art)
  22. Maria Tsantsanoglou (Director of the State Museum of Contemporary Art)
  23. Vangelis Ioakimidis (Director of the Thessaloniki Museum of Photography)